Slow Cooker Provençal Beef Stew

IMG_6535

It’s that time of year when the cool Fall air starts blowing in, back-to-school, back-to-work, and after-school activities are now in full swing. This is when I get my slow-cooker back out onto the counter and into the weekly rotation of meal planning for my family.

In searching for a new and delicious recipe, I found an amazing array of ideas on www.ricardocuisine.com. The Slow Cooker Category on the Ricardo Cuisine website has 40 mouthwatering recipes to choose from, but the recipe that caught my eye was the Slow-Cooked Provençal Beef Stew. I had recently been reading a book based in Provence, and well I really couldn’t resist the description for this recipe . . . stewing beef cooked with pancetta, broth, red wine, olives, veggies and herbes de provence served over buttered tagliatelle pasta  . . . yum! If I wasn’t going to be in Provence any time soon, I at least wanted to eat like I was there!

IMG_6473

So off I went to my local grocery store to pick up the easy to find items I needed (Ricardo Cuisine also has a handy Grocery List app on the website you can use, just sign up online!).

IMG_6482

Start by layering the ingredients into your slow cooker – The cubed stewing beef, baby carrots, and potatoes.

IMG_6487

Add the chicken broth and red wine. Then toss in the black olives and pancetta (no need to pre-cook, just toss it in raw).

IMG_6493

Next is the farm fresh diced roma tomatoes, garlic and onion.

IMG_6496

Finally season with herbes de provence, a bay leaf, a pinch of ground cloves and a hearty pinch of salt and a few grinds of freshly ground black pepper.

IMG_6513

Give it a stir to mix up all of the ingredients then cook on high for 6 hours (this is the setting I chose), or low for 8 hours et voila, a beautiful Provençal Beef Stew!

Tagliatelle

Finally prepare your tagliatelle noodles by following the package directions. Mine cooked very fast (5-7 minutes). You could also choose to serve this over gluten-free noodles, rice or quinoa.

This recipe was easy to prepare, with all ingredients found in my pantry and at my local grocery store. Simply toss all ingredients into the slow cooker and enjoy the aroma that will waft through your house all day. My home smelled like I had been slaving all day on a spectacular authentic French meal, but the secret weapon of your slow cooker will make this amazing dish come together without much effort. Top with some parsley for a bit of flair, and add a bread basket of some lovely country loaf or baguette to serve with the stew for a perfect comforting family meal.

IMG_6558

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Provençal Beef Stew

Leave a Reply

