Danielle Walker’s Slow-Cooker Beef Chuck Chili . . . with a super food-storage idea from Shape+Store!

beef_chuck_chili

Oh my word, this is the best chili I have ever made, and the perfect recipe for playoff Football season!  The recipe is from Danielle Walker’s Against All Grain Cookbook and it is amazing! My go-to chili recipe used to be my Slow-Cooker Turkey and Three Bean Chili which is fantastic, but I just can’t to seem to digest beans anymore and have not touched or made chili in a year (I know terrible, and even more upsetting for my poor husband who loves chili). This recipe however has a great depth of flavour and so good made with real chunks of good quality beef. Trust me hubby was really happy, and the good news for me is my tummy was very happy and did not fight me after eating it  : )

The recipe is only found in the cookbook (which I highly recommend along with her second book Meals Made Simple), but here is my very slightly adapted recipe to reflect products & product sizes found in Canada.

Ingredients:

  • 2 teaspoons coconut oil
  • 1.3 kg good quality beef chuck “stewing beef” – cut into 1/2″ cubes
  • 2 red peppers, diced small
  • 1 cooking onion, diced small
  • 796 ml organic diced tomatoes
  • 1 1/2 cups (375ml) no sodium added beef broth (organic if possible)
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 1/2 tbsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp fine sea salt . . . or you can use kosher salt
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 oz unsweetened chocolate
  • Red onion, finely diced for garnish if desired
  • Fresh Cilantro for garnish if desired

Directions:

*Note: I prepped all but cooking the beef the night before and then just cooked off the beef and dumped all in the slow-cooker in the morning. You could also cook the beef ahead also, store in fridge overnight, and dump and go in the morning!

  1. Combine all spices in a bowl and set aside until ready to add to slow cooker (bay leaf through to red pepper flakes).
  2. Combine peppers, onions, diced tomatoes, beef broth and minced garlic in a bowl and set aside until ready to add to slow-cooker.
  3. Heat the coconut oil in a large 12″ skillet and cook beef until browned (about 10 minutes).
  4. Combine all ingredients (except chocolate) in your slow-cooker and cook on low for 6 hours.
  5. After 6 hours and slow-cooker converts to warm setting, stir in chocolate and make sure incorporated well.
  6. Taste test and add salt if desired (original recipe calls for 3 tsp sea salt, but I only added 2 tsp figuring I could add more at the end if needed – and I did not).
  7. Serve garnished with red onion and cilantro (if desired) and with some good quality organic tortilla chips  for dipping and scooping! (I really like Kirkland Signature Que Pasa Organic Tortilla Chips which they sell at Costco).

Now to assist with storage after you have made this huge batch of chili I have to tell you about a fantastic product line from Shape+Store. I met with founder Maya Liberman who generously gave me her products to test out. Her products were also featured on Dragon’s Den Season 9 Epidode 1 so check it out! The Burger Master is a fantastic product for forming and freezing home made burgers, but guess what – it is also fantastic for freezing lots more! With 4 cups of storage room, the Burger Masters easily divided my 4 cups of chili into 8 equal easy to remove 1/2 cup portions (they just pop right out!). The Burger Master is also super easy to clean. Check out the awesome photos below  . . .

shapeandstore_chili

I honestly am totally impressed! I now have easy “chili pucks” ready to go in the freezer for lunches or easy to heat dinners. I especially love that they are measured portions and I know exactly how much 1/2 cup is. Since it is not quite burger season right now I was thrilled with the results with leftovers, and this will be a go-to for me for freezing. What a great xmas gift idea for the cooks in your family! Check out the Shape+Store website – as you will also see the “Smart Cookie” which I will be writing about next week  – a gem for Christmas cookie prep!

FINAL LOGO for web

Disclosure:  This post was written in partnership with Shape+Store to help spread the word about their product lines.  The opinions shared about their products are entirely my own.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Danielle Walker’s Slow-Cooker Beef Chuck Chili . . . with a super food-storage idea from Shape+Store!

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Chunk, Pecan & Salted Caramel Cookies . . . featuring The Smart Cookie! | Kara's Favourite Recipes

  2. Pingback: The Best of 2014 | Kara's Favourite Recipes

Leave a Reply

