Peach and Pancetta Pancakes

IMG_8382[1]

To kick off Peach Week 2014 I am going to start with breakfast. These might be the best pancakes I have ever made. They are a delicious sweet and salty combo that is SO good! I really can’t wait to make more. Tender buttermilk pancakes stuffed with chopped peaches and chunks of pancetta and then topped with maple syrup and some sliced peaches (you could even top with some more pancetta if you want – I may try that next time!).

IMG_8363[1]

Now to make my pancakes I used The Friddle! I was lucky enough to have a friend recommend the product (thanks Rob!) and connect me with the company who generously provided me with a Friddle to test. I have been cooking up a storm with it now for 6 months and can say it is fantastic! It is the only tool I use for making pancakes or french toast, as well as a batch of bacon. It is really well made (proud to say Canadian made) and the cooking results have been top notch. Even better is how easy it is to clean. I have only been cooking with The Friddle on the stove top but I am really happy with it and it is my go-to double griddle. I am however curious to try it in the oven and on the bbq as they recommend. Thanks Friddle team I love it!

IMG_8367[1]

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of all purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons of granulated sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon of kosher salt
  • 1 cup of 1% buttermilk
  • 2 tablespoons of canola oil + more for oiling pan
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup of peeled chopped peaches (about 2) plus more for topping pancakes (1-2)
  • 1/2 cup of diced pancetta, cooked in advance (add more if you want extra for sprinkling on top when serving)

IMG_8370[1]

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt and stir with a whisk.
  2. In another large bowl whisk together buttermilk, oil and egg.
  3. Add dry ingredients into wet and combine until well moistened, but do not over mix.
  4. Stir in chopped peaches and cooked pancetta.
  5. Heat a large skillet or double griddle over medium heat.
  6. Moisten a paper towel with some oil and rub skillet/griddle with oiled paper towel.
  7. For each pancake, spoon 2-3 tablespoons of batter onto skillet/griddle and spread with back of spoon into a round. (Hint: I use a large cookie scoop).
  8. Cook until the surface of the pancake has some bubbles (1-2 minutes). Flip with a spatula and cook until browned on the other side (1-2 minutes more).
  9. Continue with oiling the skillet/griddle with a paper towel in between batches, and use the remaining batter. Recipe should make 12 pancakes.

Note: For instructions on how to freeze pancake check out my Buttermilk Pancakes post.

One thought on “Peach and Pancetta Pancakes

  1. Pingback: The Best of 2014 | Kara's Favourite Recipes

Leave a Reply

