Healthy Snacks for Athletes (and coaches too!)

heathyrecipesforathletes

So, I am not only a food blogger, mom and wife but I also work in sport. I am a former athlete and coach in the sport of synchronized swimming and I have worked the past 10 years as the Sport Development Manager at Synchro Swim Ontario (go visit our site – it’s pretty cool!). My synchro family have been hugely supportive of my blog so thank you everyone – I love spreading my food love!

This time of the year is competition season, and we have our Provincial Championships coming up this weekend.  With that in mind, I thought why not highlight some of my recipes that are good, nourishing choices for packing for competition whether for the athlete or coach who needs to stay fuelled, and also for the amazing judges who volunteer their time (shout out officials!).

Better Blueberry Banana Muffins made with Coconut Oil & Maple Syrup – Great packable snack – my #1 healthy muffin recipe.

Almond Milk, Peanut Butter & Banana Smoothie – A great way to get nutrition in if you don’t have a lot of time.

Healthy Pumpkin Cranberry Banana Muffins made with Coconut Oil – Another healthy muffin recipe

Fiona’s Yummy Granola – Excellent to pack as a yogurt topper

Best. Quinoa. Salad. Ever – Make ahead and pack in the cooler

Quinoa Tabbouleh – Another great quinoa recipe (one of my favourites)

Extra Crunchy Broccoli Salad – Delicious salad packed with broccoli, carrot and cashews

Danielle Walker’s Zucchini Bread – Not nut-free, but a great gluten-free recipe

Leave a Reply

