Get Your Healthy On!

Fave_Healthy_Recipes

Happy New Year! Well like everyone else, I am starting the New Year by getting back on track with healthy meals and snacks after a fantastic holiday season filled with delicious indulgences.

I thought I would give you a few of my favourite resources as well as some of my favourite clean and healthy recipes from the blog to help you kick off 2014  . . .

  • I adore Janet and Greta Podleski and their Looneyspoons Collection cookbook, as well as the website resources, and brand new “Health Nuts” videos on You Tube. Their healthy chicken burgers (available at Costco) are also delicious!
  • After experiencing some annoying and painful digestive/gastro issues in 2013 (lactose and some others), I checked out Julie Daniluk’s website after watching her on the Marilyn Dennis Show. After some reading, I decided to invest in her book “Meals that Heal Inflammation“.  I really found the book helpful and her website is a great resource.
  • My Power Waffles are an excellent breakfast choice, so good, and my kids LOVE them. Excellent to make-ahead, freeze, and then toast up in the morning.
  • Another great blog is Oh She Glows from Angela Liddon (and she is literally next door to me over in Oakville, Ontario!). Her recipes are vegan and it is just another great resource to stretch your repertoire of healthy recipes. She also has her first book coming out in March.
  • I really like Rose Reisman and her site – Art of Living Well. She has been doing this for over 20 years, and her advice, resources and recipes are great.
  • I have made a commitment to “Meatless Mondays” and “Fishy Fridays“, as it is a great way to “force” yourself to cook at least one meatless meal a week and once a week with fish. And if I don’t feel like cooking on Friday – our favourite sushi place is always on speed dial!

Hope these links and resources give you some ideas and a boost to get your healthy on to start 2014!

Leave a Reply

