Yummy Green Smoothie

IMG_7539[1]

I finally got my act together, and gave a green smoothie a try, and I all I know is that now I crave one every day. No, its not pretty, it is dark green (that photo I took is the real deal).  It packs in 7 servings of fruit/veg, and  I feel so good after I have it – a true natural energy drink! I definitely was not maximizing my fruit/veg requirement, and this smoothie makes it so much easier to achieve, and honestly it tastes great.

I got this recipe from The Green Forks, and in my books it is perfect! I thought I needed a fancy blender (Blendtec or Vitamix) to make a green smoothie, but this blended perfect in my good old Braun blender. The recipe yields 750ml (3 cups) of smoothie. It is quite alot, but I great lunch portion (which is when I have been having it). If you are not feeling like as much, then half it – that is still getting you 3.5 servings of fruit/veg.

Ingredients (in order I put them in the blender):

  • 1 cup of water
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 cup of frozen strawberries
  • 1 unpeeled apple, cored and cut into chunks
  • 1/2 cup of english cucumber, unpeeled and cut into chunks
  • 2 cups of baby spinach
  • *My new addition:  1  tsp NutraSea zesty lemon fish oil

Directions:

  1. Place ingredients in blender in order listed above.
  2. Blend until completely smooth.
  3. Serve and enjoy!

Do you have a favourite green smoothie recipe? If so please comment and share!

4 thoughts on “Yummy Green Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Get Your Healthy On! | Kara's Favourite Recipes

  2. Pingback: Havest Fruit Green Smoothie | Kara's Favourite Recipes

  3. Pingback: Kara’s Favourite Green Smoothie’s | Kara's Favourite Recipes

  4. Pingback: Go green in 2016! | Kara's Favourite Recipes

Leave a Reply

