Grandma’s Plum Cake

049

It’s that time of year again when the prune plums are in stock, and that means it is time to make my Grandma’s Plum Cake. I posted this recipe back in 2011, the first year of my blog, but I felt it needed some attention again, as it is one of my most special and favourite recipes. For me, life is just not right without baking up Plum Cake in September.

Plum cake has been part of my family’s tradition for as long as I can remember. My Grandma made it year after year for family and friends this time of year. She was known for her plum cake, and has told me stories about how excited people would be when she would bring them a little package of her specialty. We also make sure we freeze a portion of cake, as it always is served on our dessert tray after Christmas dinner.

My Grandma is about to turn 87 in a couple weeks, and her plum cake production has slowed down in the past few years, so the responsibility and tradition has been passed to me. The other day I made the cake with my 4 year old and I can only hope that my daughters will continue the tradition on.

If you have never tried making plum cake you must try this recipe, it is light and delicious and perfect with a cup of coffee after breakfast, lunch or dinner!

Grandma’s Plum Cake Recipe (Re-posted from August 2011)

One thought on “Grandma’s Plum Cake

  1. Pingback: Raspberry and Strawberry Thumbprints | Kara's Favourite Recipes

Leave a Reply

