Slow-Cooker Honey Sesame Chicken

099

This is delicious! A winner of a Pinterest recipe from The Comfort of Cooking. If you have pinned it – try it! You know those recipes where you start eating it right out of the crockpot because it is that good? Yup this recipe is one of those.

I followed the recipe exactly as written and it turned out terrific, I will absolutely be making this again. My husband loved it, even more when he got to take leftovers to work for lunch.

I used 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts (not thighs which are listed as an option), and cooked on low for 4 hours. Once I shredded the chicken I placed it back in the thickened sauce, stirred in one tablespoon of sesame seeds and then set the slow-cooker to warm to keep it hot as it was done a bit ahead of dinner time. I served the chicken with brown rice, asparagus and a sprinkling of sesame seeds.

This was a huge hit with the family. It does include 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes and I felt like the kids felt the heat a bit so depending on your family decrease it if needed. My husband and I loved it just the way it was.

Now, the next day I used some leftover chicken to make a wrap. OMG now that was so yummy. It tasted great cold. I shredded some romaine lettuce and topped it with the chicken and rolled it up in a large tortilla. Now it would have been perfect with some asian slaw – so try that if you have any. Seriously so good.

004

8 thoughts on “Slow-Cooker Honey Sesame Chicken

  1. Kara… now you need to bottle these sauces and sell them to those of us who want the flavour with no fuss!
    Leslie

    וַֽיַּאֲמֵ֖ן הָעָ֑ם וַֽיִּשְׁמְע֡וּ
    כִּֽי־פָקַ֙ד יְהוָ֜ה אֶת־בְּנֵ֣י יִשְׂרָאֵ֗ל וְכִ֤י רָאָה֙ אֶת־עָנְיָ֔ם
    וַֽיִּקְּד֖וּ וַיִּֽשְׁתַּחֲוּֽוּ׃The people believed. When they heard that the Lord had paid attention to the Israelites and had seen their oppression, they bowed down and worshipped. Exodus 4:31

    Date: Mon, 18 Mar 2013 16:02:09 +0000
    To: lmakins@sympatico.ca

    Like

    • Thank you Georgia! It was so good and the wrap was so good it almost makes me want to make the recipe for that alone. Hopefully I sent (and continue to send) a lot of views your way for this scrumptious recipe! What would I do without Pinterest? : )

      Like

  2. I made this for dinner tonight — served over bean thread noodles, with a side of stir-fried bok choy. Yum!!! This recipe is fantastic, and so easy to put together. Got rave reviews from the husband, too.

    Like

  3. Pingback: My Favourite Back-to-School Recipes | Kara's Favourite Recipes

  4. Pingback: Freezable Meals | Kara's Favourite Recipes

  5. Pingback: Weeknight Winners | Kara's Favourite Recipes

Leave a Reply

