Ina Garten’s Dinner Spanikopita

048

Here is a fabulous “Meatless Monday” recipe. This Spanikopita recipe is soooo good – the flavourful spinach filling with chunks of feta and pine nuts is mouth-watering. The recipe is from one of my favourites, Ina Garten, and her cookbook Back to Basics – which I of course highly recommend as well as all of her books! I only made a half recipe which made 6 large Spanikopita (I didn’t need 12!), and that was enough for my husband and I for dinner and lunch the next day (the kids weren’t in the mood for trying new things that night!). This recipe makes a lovely dinner with a side salad. You could also use the recipe to make appetizer size spanikopita, just cut smaller pieces of phyllo and use less filling. I loved that this made individual spanikopitas that baked perfectly and tasted just as good for lunch the next day (maybe even better!). I am really looking forward to making this again with my remaining 12 sheets of phyllo that I refroze.

The recipe is posted on the Food Network website, exactly as written in the book: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/dinner-spanakopitas-recipe/index.html

Follow the instructions as directed. However, here is my halved ingredient list below for your reference . . .

For a half recipe I used:

  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup of finely diced yellow onion
  • 1 big fat green onion
  • 1 package of frozen chopped spinach, defrosted and squeezed dry
  • 2 large eggs (I never buy extra large – 2 large worked just fine)
  • 1  1/2 tbsp grated parmesan cheese
  • 3 tbsp plain bread crumbs for the filling, plus 12 tsp more for sprinkling in between the phyllo sheets
  • 1/2 tsp of ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp Kosher (coarse) salt
  • 1/2 tsp of freshly ground pepper
  • 1 cup of small dice feta cheese (I used President’s Choice light feta cheese)
  • 1  1/2 tbsp toasted pine nuts (if you don’t have any don’t worry it doesn’t make or break the recipe but they were nice in the filling)
  • 12 sheets of phyllo dough (defrosted) – packages usually contains 24 sheets – you can defrost and then re-freeze, just follow the directions on the package
  • 1/4 cup of unsalted butter or margarine melted (I used my favourite margarine – Lactancia Healthy Attitude – worked beautifully)
  • Kosher salt for sprinkling on top before baking (I didn’t have any sea salt and the Kosher worked fine and tasted great).

054

One thought on “Ina Garten’s Dinner Spanikopita

  1. Pingback: Kara’s Favourite’s Top Pinned Recipes | Kara's Favourite Recipes

Leave a Reply

