Magnolia’s Vanilla Cupcakes

I am a fan of seeking out famous bakeries or restaurants when I travel, so on a recent trip to Chicago I was excited that I would be able to visit one of only four Magnolia Bakery locations in the world. I have The Complete Magnolia Bakery Cookbook in my cookbook collection and after visiting the Chicago locationย and seeing the real thing in person I was inspired to get baking and try Magnolia’s Vanilla Cupcakes with Vanilla Buttercream. They are delicious! ย The cake is so light and moist, and the icing was very simple and perfectly sweet. Now I have not mastered that famous Magnolia swirl, but I did find some how-to’s online so I can practice for my next batch! You can link to the recipe here, which is posted on marthastewart.com (it is the exact same recipe as in the cookbook).

The Magnolia Bakery in Chicago –ย 108 N. State Street at Block 37, Chicago, IL 60602

My inspiration . . . Vanilla Vanilla Cupcakes at Magnolia Bakery in Chicago

Leave a Reply

