Grandma’s favourite Healthy Banana-Blueberry Muffins

These tasty muffins are a great recipe I came across in Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food Magazine (which I subscribe to). I have been baking these Healthy Banana-Blueberry Muffins for my grandmother regularly as she finds them satisfying for breakfast or for a snack. I also make them as a healthier snack option and treat for the kids, my husband and I. They really are delicious!

Now, my grandmother prefers me to use Splenda for her diet needs so I substitute 1/3 cup of granulated Splenda for the 1/3 cup of granulated sugar, and 2 tablespoons of Brown Sugar Blend Splenda in place of the the 1/3 cup of light brown sugar. This substitution works well if you prefer or need to cut down on sugar. I also use non-hydrogenated margarine (my family prefers Lactancia Healthy Attitude Omega 3 Margarine) instead of unsalted butter. I have made the recipe both with and without Splenda and either way works out really well.

Some other helpful tips for this recipe:

– I store my wheat germ in the freezer. This keeps it fresher longer.

– I use whatever milk I have in the fridge (recipes states 2% but we drink 1%)

– These muffins freeze well. I will bake a dozen for my grandmother, let them cool completely, then freeze 4 to a medium freezer bag, so she can pop out a muffin and defrost anytime to enjoy.

– If my bananas have ripened but I can’t get to baking that day, I pop them in the freezer in their skins, and when I need a banana or two for baking I pull them out of the freezer, defrost enough to pull off the skins and the banana is ready to mash and use in a muffin recipe.

– I use my handy OXO Good Grips 3 tablespoon Cookie Scoop to scoop equal amounts of muffin batter into the muffin tin.

One thought on “Grandma’s favourite Healthy Banana-Blueberry Muffins

  1. Pingback: Better Banana Blueberry Muffins made with Coconut Oil & Maple Syrup | Kara's Favourite Recipes

Leave a Reply

