Raspberry Freezer Jam

Raspberry season has arrived and I was up to the farm this week (www.hutchinsonfarm.ca) to buy a flat of 12 pints (yes 12!) of my favourite summer fruit. They are absolutely scrumptious! Now, before our family devours all of these precious berries (yes I do share with my parents and grandmother!), I had to make my annual batch of Raspberry Freezer Jam.

Raspberries couldn’t be easier to prepare for jam because they require no preparation other than a gentle rinse in a colander. Grab your favourite package of Freezer Jam gelling powder and 1 1/2 cups of granulated sugar and follow the directions for your 4 cups (approx 2 pints) of fresh raspberries.

Like my Strawberry Freezer Jam I posted earlier, I once again used Club House Garden Fare No Cook Freezer Jam gelling powder as that has given me great results both before and after freezing.

Once jarred, store the jam in the refrigerator and use within 6 weeks, or freeze for up to one year.

One batch of raspberry freezer jam yielded 12 – 125ml jars (pictured above).

Note: Freezing Raspberries

I wanted to add a note about freezing raspberries as I love to add fresh summer frozen berries to smoothies, yogurt, baked goods, etc.

To freeze raspberries lightly rinse very gently (I do it in a sieve) and then lay out individually on a paper towel to dry (holes down so any water drains out).

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and arrange raspberries on the parchment paper so that they are not touching each other. Place the entire baking sheet in the freezer and let the raspberries freeze for approximately 1-2 hours.

Once frozen place all of your individually frozen berries in a good quality freezer bag and pop in the freezer to enjoy during non-berry season!

One thought on “Raspberry Freezer Jam

  1. Pingback: Raspberry and Strawberry Thumbprints | Kara's Favourite Recipes

Leave a Reply

